The Pokemon Video Games

The Pokémon family product includes a series of video games developed by Game Freak and published by Nintendo and The Pokémon Company under the Pokémon media franchise.

The video game is also centered around providing a fun and an organized playing environment to entertain and stimulate intellectual growth.

The core games are released in generations, each with different Pokémon, storylines, and characters. The defining point of where a new generation begins is when a new core series Pokémon game is released with a large set of new Pokémon in its Pokémon universe (Pokédex).

There are also remakes and spin-offs of the game’s original version by different organizations encompassing other genres such as action role-playing, puzzle, fighting, and digital pet games.

First generation Games (1996–1999)

These are the first Pokémon games. They were full-time Japanese role-playing video games (RPGs) with an element of strategy and action.

Second generation Video Games (1999–2002)

These sets of video games’ release started in 1999 with the Japanese release of Pokémon Gold and Silver for the Game Boy Color.

This version came into Australia and North America around October 2000 with a European release date of April 2001.

Third generation (2002–2006)

The Pokémon third-generation video games started with the 2002 release of Pokémon Ruby and Sapphire for Game Boy Advance and continued with the Game Boy Advance remakes of Pokémon Red and Green.

Up to 135 new Pokémon for a total of 386 species were introduced, alongside a more detailed visual environment than in previous games.

Fourth generation (2006–2010)

The main series of the fourth generation includes Pokémon Platinum, a director’s cut version of Diamond and Pearl in the same vein as Pokémon Yellow, Crystal, and Emerald.

Up to 107 new species of Pokémon (starting with Turtwig and ending with Arceus), bringing the number of Pokémon species to 493.

Fifth generation (2010–2013)

The fifth generation games took place in the Unova region and featured the C-Gear, a feature where players can use Wi-Fi options and customizations.

It also features two new battle methods: “Triple Battles”, where three Pokémon are sent out at once, and Rotation Battles, where three Pokémon are also sent out at the same time, but the trainer can switch one Pokémon out of the three that are present.

Sixth generation (2013–2016)

The sixth generation of Pokémon, with the newly paired games, Pokémon X and Y, which were released on the Nintendo 3DS on October 12, 2013, worldwide.

The video game introduced the player characters, the starter Pokémon; Grass-type Chespin, the Fire-type Fennekin, and the Water-type Froakie, and two other Pokémon, not named until later.

Seventh Generation Games (2016–2019)

The seventh generation games were the first since the second generation to be backward-compatible with other titles, including Pokémon X and Y.

Eighth generation (2019–2022)

The eighth-generation games take place in the Galar region and introduced 81 new Pokémon, Galarian forms, the Champion Cup, Dynamax, Gigantamax forms, Max Raid battles, and Pokémon Camp.